Leaving a Legacy

Many things in society that are caring and sweet such as flowers, gifts and photos all eventually grow old and reach a certain expiration point. What if something could capture all those special moments and last forever?

The untraditional idea of putting a Quick Response (QR) Code on a tombstone is the next step the digital age is taking. The Washington Post wrote an article on this innovative concept, http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/innovations/. When I first read about this notion my first response was unbelief and a sense that it is unacceptable to utilize social media in this intrusive way. This initially fell under my list of what is improper social media etiquette.

After a while I began realizing the many benefits of using social media this way could provide. The idea is for loved ones, or anyone visiting the gravesite to have instant access to pictures, obituaries, videos and much more by simply scanning the code. By using this code the depth of information on the individual would be greater, the appreciation for the deceased more able to be realized and the genuine representation of the person most accurate.  Gravestones typically contain a small amount of information that does not provide the extensive information like a code would. Using the code would ultimately make the deceased become as alive as possible to others.

When looking solely at a gravestone it is like you are peeping through the keyhole trying to see the person’s life and only seeing a limited amount of information. Utilizing the QR code is like opening the door into the person’s life and seeing the legacy left behind. 

Standard

One thought on “Leaving a Legacy

  1. What an interesting concept! I too was shocked by the invasive idea at first however the more I thought about it the more I could see how the QR code could have a place in the cemetery.
    You brought up an excellent point regarding the way we try and appreciate peoples past but really can’t if we didn’t know them. The QR code would allows us to dive into the life of a decease. We could understand and sympathize with his or her family and friends. In addition I would like to leave a legacy on this earth and what better way then what we have done out whole lives. I think the biggest issue I felt was that I feel insignificant having my whole life squished into a little QR code. That once I leave all I will be is a QR code. I think the article and the idea is something we should be open to. As invasive as it appears in the beginning maybe it is time we look to a new world.

Leave a comment